Trouble With Taming?

Pepper122

Dec 15, 2015
I'm very new to owning and handling birds, prior to my green cheeked conure (Cinnamon colored) Pepper, I handled rodents most of which were hand tamed by the time I obtained them.

Now I have Pepper.

I looked on the internet, found information and started trying to tame him. Well now several weeks later I've hit a dead end on the issue after making numerous amounts of progress.

Pepper does like me, she talks to me, gets semi upset when I leave, happily greets me when I come home. By all appearances? She looks tame looking at her from the cage, she's right on the front door, always as close to where I am as she can be in the cage.

Once the door is open this story changes.

When my hand is inside the cage she'll only cuddle up to it on one bar, and while she grips my finger with one foot sometimes, she refuses to step up entirely.

Once she is outside the cage, she wants all my attention, she makes noise for it and behaves the same way! Pepper will take food from my hand, I can use food to make her come right up to me, but than she runs away. My bird want's my attention, she looks at me, talks to me all that, but the second I try to give it to her she flies away.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I get her clipped to aid in taming her? Do I just need to be more patient, if so how long can I expect?

sadiebird

Oct 15, 2015
Parrots
Green-Cheeked Conure
A few weeks is not a long time - don't forget that these birds have lifespans about 10 times that of the average small rodent. Be patient. Mine went from being very aggressive and fearful (i.e. running over to attack things he's scared of before running away) to being a complete cuddle monster who loves tickles and kisses and beak rubs. It took about 1.5 months for mine to get like this, but he does spend about 15 hours out of the cage every day which helped a lot.