What does this mean? - Video

Sterling1113

Feb 15, 2014
Dallas area, Texas
Whoo! I would say you've got a pretty little Sun Conure on your hands.. :) I've had suns and jendays and from what I can see the Jenday's are a more solid greens on the back and a more flush red/orange in the face.
And that's mating behaviour if I've ever seen it. My White Eared Conure does that to get the attention of my pineapple green cheek.. and it's about that time of year. :)
I'm not an expert so don't bark at me if I'm wrong! Hehe. I'm just speaking from personal experience. :) Love sun conures. Such cute fellows.

Would you happen to know how old he/she is? it might also explain the excessive nippiness if that isn't normal, like you mentioned. Hormones, man. They get to everyone. Heh :p

OP
S

sowa

Feb 26, 2014
Good to know! Not sure of the age, we think less then a year.

MonicaMc

Sep 12, 2012
Media
Parrots
Mitred Conure - Charlie 1994;
Cockatiel - Casey 2001;
Wild Caught ARN - Sylphie 2013
Definitely sun! Jendays are indeed more green on the back, but many jendays are actually more yellow in the face while being a more reddish-orange in the stomach area.

As far as behavior, well I've never bred conures before and none of mine have ever acted that way. However, I have seen videos of other conures displaying similar behavior and it was usually a "back off" kind of behavior.... like the bird sees something it doesn't like and puffs up to try to appear bigger and scarier.

I think this person is an idiot (and perhaps the owners as well, for allowing this), but you can see a more extreme version of a pissed off sun conure trying to go after a dog. There is the body swaying, wings out, tail feathers fanned some and beak open.

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkyzOttV2ic"]ANGRY CONURE! - YouTube[/ame]

Considering the age of the sun conure at your work, I highly doubt it's hormones but rather maybe he saw something he didn't like?

Last edited:

Ashleigh86

Sep 12, 2013