Worried about Travel

Darkfifi29

Feb 3, 2013
New Zealand
Parrots
An African Grey called Morpheus Gray, my first bird (apart from my chickens)
Could you advise me please?

Hello Everyone...As you know, my baby Grey is coming home in about 4 weeks. My concern is that a few times a year I travel overseas to exhibitions or to photograph in museum collections. Because NZ is so far away from Europe and USA, I would normally stay away for about 2-3 weeks.

My priority this year is not to travel, but to learn to be a responsible and loving companion to my parrot. I don't :grey: want to damage our bond as it develops, or let him feel I have abandoned him by going away overseas for too long.

However, I have no experience with what 'too long' is for a parrot. Because I work from home I can offer a lot of quality time to him, but I will have to fly around NZ some times for a day or two for business, but no plane travel in NZ takes longer than 2 hours anyway, the islands are small compared to the continents. I also travel by car a lot with my dogs, so the wee parrot is going to be coming too in a Cell-tie travel cage. Its just the overseas trips that I am worried about. What do you think?

Featheredsamurai

Aug 24, 2011
California
Parrots
African Greg
2 cockatiels
My advice would be to harness train your gray so he can go out and meet lots of people and have many experiences. Have friends you trust who are willing to learn about birds come over and interact with him often. Then when you do have to travel oversees it won't be as traumatic to have different people taking care of him. You can even let your friends take care of him for a day so he isn't as stressed out when you are suddenly gone.