ARN looking for facetime

HSRivney

Jun 30, 2018
Las Vegas, Nevada
Parrots
African Ring Neck, Ringo
Taking a stab here. I rescued an emotionally neglected male ARN last year. He doesn't talk, step up, take food from your hand, eat when anyone is within 5 feet of his cage. This is AFTER I've been working with him for 10 months. I've changed his diet, allow him to fly the house once or twice a week, he gets fruit and Roudybush. He loves his mirrors, so I put an iPad in his cage and set it to YouTube playlists of other ringnecks. He LOVES the babies and snuggles up to them, sings to them, taps the iPad all the time. He's figured out how to keep tapping it to get to the video on the list that is his favorite(s).

I recently heard of an experiment where humans trained birds to ring a bell when they want to video chat with another bird, and they are pretty good at face timing! If anyone has a lonely, or not lonely, African Ring Neck, who could face time with mine for a bit a couple times a week, perhaps our birds could become friends? The most I can get him to do is not bite me when I work the iPad inside his cage, and touch (only touch) a fruit treat before he jumps to the back of his cage and waits for me to put it in the bowl. I'm told this is a big improvement from where he was. It's just sad! I know he's lonely and needs company, but he doesn't want it from me.

Anyone who might want to try this? Here he is with the iPad in his cage. IMG_2205.jpeg

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty
Parrots and mirrors - always a crap shoot. My Salty has zero interest in a reflection of himself, I think he understands that its just him. But he does love to watch YT vids, especially those crazy RIngnecks. He learned a lot of what he says from watching vids of them talking. He also reacts to videos of other yellow shoulder Amazons and some BFA and YNA's but oddly not all!