Bringing your parrot to a friends house?

JessieRosie

Mar 25, 2014
London
Parrots
Rose Crowned Conure
Hi there everyone!

I am new to the parrot world and to this forum :)

I just wanted to ask if anyone has any advice as to whether it is ok to bring my 6 month old conure with me to a friends house for the evening and then home again.

She's been to the vet and seemed to enjoy the train journey and being outside. She's also very happy with friends and new people. Would it be stressful or fun for her?

Thank you for your help!

Jess and Rosie :green1:x

Kiwibird

Jul 12, 2012
Parrots
1 BFA- Kiwi. Hatch circa 98', forever home with us Dec. 08'
A lot of birds like going everywhere with their owners. Just some things to consider though:

1. Does the friend have dogs/cat, and if so, will they be willing to put them outside/kennel them while your bird is there? If not, it is NOT worth the risk of your baby being injured or killed by a larger predatory animal (and no matter how "nice" a dog or cat is, if it's not used to bird, it see them as a play thing or lunch). Not too long ago, someones conure got eaten by a dog when the owners weren't paying 100% attention for just a few minutes.

2. Do you have a cage or carrier with food/water dishes? A short walk on your shoulder may be one thing, but a bird who will be away for several hours needs food and water provided, as well as a safe means of transport. A harness is not sufficient for a longer time period away from home.

3. Is the friends house otherwise conducive to your bird- i.e. no smoking indoors, no drugs or excessive alcohol being used there (things that could impure judgement and lead to your bird being injured/killed), no teflon/non-stick pans, doesn't use excessive air fresheners/candles- you know, things that other people may not know are dangerous to birds or situations that may put your bird in danger.