Have Cage Already

MadDog

Nov 17, 2010
I'm new to birds so hopefully this is the right question to ask. I have a bird cage that is 18"x18"x23" (LWH) and was wondering what bird would be appropriate for that size. The bar spacing is half an inch.

The bird won't be in the cage that often because I am home a lot. I just got a new job, but it's part time and not a lot of hours. I am looking for a bird that is sociable and will enjoy sitting on my shoulder and playing with me. Like I said, I am new to birds and would like to know if what I'm looking for is unreasonable. Thanks everyone for the help.

Bobby34231

Jun 25, 2010
Media
Albums
Sarasota,Florida
Parrots
Quincy - Blue Throated Macaw, Skittles and Dusty - Rose Breasted Too's,
Joey - Yellow Crown Amazon, Ashley - CAG
Kinda small, but I would say nothing bigger than say a cockatiel or maybe a green cheeked conure, at those measurements that would be on the MINIMUM side ;)

OP
M

MadDog

Nov 17, 2010
Thanks for the help! I figured it would be too small for most species.

OP
M

MadDog

Nov 17, 2010
What about a blue crown conure? Would that be a sufficient cage for one? I have heard a lot of great things about these birds. Thanks once again.

Spiritbird

Banned
Banned
Aug 20, 2009
Media
Conures are very active birds and need a bigger cage to fly in. If you must use that cage then think about a Parakeet.

OP
M

MadDog

Nov 17, 2010
Thank you Spiritbird. I do plan on getting a larger cage sooner or later. Maybe I could start out with a parakeet and move up to a larger bird later. I absolutely love the female eclectus parrot! I could get a cage suited for one and study up on them a lot.

Pheonix Rising

Oct 9, 2010
New Zealand
Parrots
Pheonix-Alexandrine parrot
1 September 2010
mikki- barrarand x king parrot
21yrs young ;)
A love bird is another choice as eclispe would testify to if your imtrested in pm her
small , colourful, full of charector ,

Negatives are they can be noisy and nippy