Help Wanted! Pacific Parrotlet Swollen Nostril

AvianAmigos

Apr 29, 2023
Parrots
Pacific parrotlet
Hi parrot lovers,

My Pacific parrotlet Didi seems sick, with his nostril swollen badly. This is my first time keeping a parrot as a pet. I am not sure what happened to him 😭

Has anyone dealt with this before? Any help is greatly appreciated 🙏

Attachments

• IMG_5406.JPG
    IMG_5406.JPG
    100.4 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_5377.jpg
    IMG_5377.jpg
    295.5 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_5378.jpg
    IMG_5378.jpg
    257.8 KB · Views: 25

DonnaBudgie

Supporting Member
Jan 24, 2023
Windham, Maine
Parrots
Budgies. Lotsa Budgies.
Hi parrot lovers,

My Pacific parrotlet Didi seems sick, with his nostril swollen badly. This is my first time keeping a parrot as a pet. I am not sure what happened to him 😭

Has anyone dealt with this before? Any help is greatly appreciated 🙏
I had a budgie with a similar condition. Took him to an avian vet who diagnosed an abscess/infection. He manually expressed some pus and put my budgie on antibiotics for a week. He recovered completely. Don't try to treat this yourself. Please bring him to an avian vet.

OP
AvianAmigos

AvianAmigos

Apr 29, 2023
Parrots
Pacific parrotlet
@DonnaBudgie Thank you so much for your help! Will take him to avian vet for treatment. ooc, how much did it cost you for such treatment. My parrot doesn't have any insurance.

DonnaBudgie

Supporting Member
Jan 24, 2023
Windham, Maine
Parrots
Budgies. Lotsa Budgies.
Wow! What a great idea. I wonder what the fine print limitations are. I was an insurance coverage attorney for years and was basically hired to find reasons not to cover claims. Sounds harsh but I assure you I only handled commercial liability policies, not anything that affected individuals. Anyway, there are always "limitations" in every policy, like yearly maximum benefits, age limitations etc. I'd love to read the fine print on a full policy.

DonnaBudgie

Supporting Member
Jan 24, 2023
Windham, Maine
Parrots