Im a student, my mom gave up to me the responsibility of her connure. I have no clue what to do

Fallez

Mar 5, 2024
Parrots
Green cheek conure
Hi I guess? I don't know, I need help. My mum just gave up on her connure and I am taking care of him don't get me wrong I love and respect him but my bond with him has been deteriorating, because I try to build with him to trust my hand because he loves interacting with me but is traumatised by my mother grabbing him and force petting him (don't worry he Is safe with me now) but I have absolutely no clue what to do to help him recover and I've been searching on the Internet but it doesn't answer my question. Please. :(.

Last edited by a moderator:

BirdyBee

Jan 7, 2022
Media
Albums
South Africa
Parrots
Current birds:
John
Snowy
Pippen

Past birds:
Grumpy
Sunny
Griffen
Jeff
Gertjie
Hi I guess? I don't know, I need help. My mum just gave up on her connure and I am taking care of him don't get me wrong I love and respect him but my bond with him has been deteriorating because I try to build with him to trust my hand because he loves interacting with me but is traumatised by my mother grabbing him and force petting him (don't worry he Is safe with me now) but I have absolutely no clue what to do to help him recover and I've been searching on the Internet but it doesn't answer my question. Please. :(.
Hi, very sorry to hear about your situation.
I don't have much experience with rescues but I'm sure some other people do. If nobody responds to the thread I'll tag some people who can help :)

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty