Matthew and Sassy.

Matt_Sassy

May 16, 2020
Sarasota
Parrots
Sassy - 8 Year old cockatoo
Guaco - 8 month Greencheek (Pineapple)
Hi all and welcome! I spent a good deal of time picking a forum that was right for me and I decided on this one!

My name is Matthew, I'm a younger army vet and currently a mechanic. From a young age i've always been infatuated with exotic animals, snakes,frogs, turtles, insects and lizards. Currently I own a blue tongued skink. Like alot of people who own cockatoos, they fell in love with them through cute videos of them screaming into cups or visiting them at petstores, of course what those videos never show are the grim truths to owning a cockatoo. I decided after a few months of research that I was going to adopt a new addition to the family, and choose an 8 year old umbrella cockatoo named Sassy. I'm super attached to her already and she bonded to me very quickly. We're working on her bad eating habits and bad habits overall but we'll get there.

I've had smaller birds in the past but never a large bird so this will be my first rodeo. I might have a million questions that my research hasn't answered like, Why do bird seed mixes contain peanuts or sun flower seeds if they're bad for the parrot? If you guys have any "Oh, dude you better do __" Let me know!

Glad to be here.

Jen5200

Mar 27, 2017
Media
Albums
Washington State
Parrots
Baby - Sun Conure;
Tango - GCC;
Bindi - Sun Conure;
Stanley - Pineapple GCC;
Screamer “Scree� - Cockatiel;
Tee - Pineapple GCC; Jimmy - Cockatiel
Welcome to you and Sassy! Sounds like you and Sassy are perfect for each other, look forward to hearing more about your journey with her. Lots of us have birds that came with bad diets and habits - it’s always an adventure to work on that :). We have a great group here, and always welcome questions....someone here is bound to know the answer or have ideas what to do.

noodles123

Jul 11, 2018
Parrots
Umbrella Cockatoo- 15? years old..I think?