Need Advice for Gaining Weight (Hahns Macaw)

mrjayd

Jun 10, 2020
Hello everyone,
Newbie here. My name is JD and I have a 5 month old baby Hahn’s named Buddy. Unfortunately the Breeder clipped his wings so he is not flying yet. He is very active and seems all too healthy but he eats like a fish. When I got him at 12 weeks old he was about 130 grams and today he is only at 138 (in the morning after a big poop). He pretty much likes everything I give him but just picks at it and just not gaining much weight. Any thoughts?
Looking forward to the forum.

Last edited by a moderator:

Noahs_Birds

Parrot of the Month 🏆
Oct 24, 2019
Toowoomba/Highfields, QLD, Australia
Parrots
Yellow Sided GCC's, Rosa Bourkes Parrots, Full Red Fronted Turqoisine Parrots, Quaker Parrots 'Scomo PM' 'Jenny PM's wife', PLUS: Rare Finches, Doves and Quail
Re: Alternative sources of protein - Hahn's Macaw

It may sound odd to you ladies and gentlemen overseas....... But here in Australia we breed Bush fly maggots for our insectivorous birds (I don't, I feed termites) and on many occassions we feed our parrots insects. (We breed maggots in sterile conditions in what we call 'Fly boxes', where we dont breed them in rotting food, instead we breed them in a wheat bran and milk powder mixture)
In fact, one of my best breeding mates bred Black headed Caiques in large numbers, as he was feeding maggots to them and they believed when feeding chicks around 30% or more of their diet was maggots. And, my Bourkes get fed Termites as well and breeding results have improved significantly.

Its a real art to learn how to breed maggots, but mealworms are really good to feed out in very small portions as a supplement. Maybe 3 or 4 twice a weeks

A comercial egg and biscuit mix with some mashed boiled egg into it is fantastic as well....but make sure to remove it at the end of the day

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon