Preparing cage for my new GCC - how’d I do?

onamom

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 9, 2022
Indiana, USA
Parrots
Ona: Dilute Green Cheek Conure
Hello all! I’m new to the forum and am a first time bird owner. I have a deposit on a dilute Green Cheek Conure from a local breeder and am getting everything ready for our new baby! Only 5 weeks old now and we’re visiting the baby at the breeder’s until she or he is ready to come home:

A88E90AE-157D-4BE6-BC02-2098493669A2.jpeg

I just started setting up the cage and would love to hear your suggestions and advice - this is my first time doing this!

I did get a large flight cage (with 1/2 inch bar spacing). The cage dimensions are 37x23x63. Here’s a link to it if you’re interested: https://www.chewy.com/prevue-pet-products-stand-playtop/dp/359394

To fill the cage I bought the Elle’s Avian Essentials kit from Elle and the Birds (I’ve been learning so much from her YouTube channel). Here’s my set up now:

39CD85B1-D3AF-4079-A636-18FD151B57E7.jpeg

And some other angles:
99F02A56-22DA-4CB0-9D3D-847C936E0A00.jpeg288160C4-B448-4DEB-A7DA-1DE936DA89C9.jpeg

I do also have a cuttlebone not in the cage yet and I have about three extra toys I’m not using here. The dowel perch is one that came with the cage but I did distress it with a machete. It came with two other dowels I could do the same with potentially.

What do you think? Are my perches spaced ok? When the baby first comes home the wings will be clipped (just to start out) and I want to make sure getting around the cage is easy enough.

Are three toys enough and I should hang them all from the ceiling as I have it or put some lower?

Thank you for reading!!!

Last edited:

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Parrots
Hawkhead(Darwin),YCA(Dexter),VE (Ekko),OWA(Slater),BHP(Talli),DYH(Calypso),RLA(Kimera),Alex(Xander)CBC(Phoe),IRN (Kodee,Luna,Stevie),WCP (Pisces),CAG(Justice)GCC (Jax), GSC2(Charley)