Questions about new budgie…

mkc1911

Jan 23, 2024
Parrots
Parakeet/Budgie
Hey, guys, new here. I had some birds as a kid, but this is my first time having a bird as an adult. I just got a new parakeet, and I have a couple of questions.

1. He seems to be extremely well-adjusted; when I got him home and in his cage, he almost immediately started exploring, playing with toys, eating the food. He showed no sign of being afraid or anxious. He also doesn’t startle when I come up to the cage, change his food/water, or open the cage door. Now, he doesn’t want to have physical contact with me just yet, but I don’t think he’ll take long to warm up. Anyway, is this normal? I’ve seen birds that just lay on the floor of the cage, cowering, for hours after they’ve been brought home. I’ve never seen a bird that was so instantly “at home” in a new cage.
  2. I talk to him a lot. Sometimes he sits and listens, other times he just goes about his business, seemingly ignoring me (is this a bad thing or is it normal?). When he does listen, he frequently closes his eyes while I talk. Sometimes he grinds his beak, and a few times he’s “talked” back, just little chirps and tweets which seem to be in response to my talking. What does all this mean?
  3. He seems very curious, and sometimes I see him looking at something and it’s obvious he’s working out a problem in his head. This makes me feel like he’s intelligent; are curious birds generally more intelligent than others, or is it unrelated?

Thank you all for taking time out to answer me!

Jcas

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Jan 9, 2023
Parrots
Quaker, 2 budgies
Congratulations on your new bird!
It’s great that he is already starting to settle in! I have both bought and adopted parakeets ( budgerigar is technically the species most commonly referred to as parakeets so I’m assuming that’s what your bird is 🙂) from different circumstances and in general they seem to settle in pretty fast.