Regurgitating caique

CraftyWallflower

Mar 9, 2022
Hello everyone,
I recently adopted a pair of bonded caiques (a little over a week ago). They have not been encouraged to do any mating behaviors in the past and I donā€™t want babies, so I have been working to ensure that I donā€™t do anything that could impact that (only head scratches, 12 hours of sleep, and they have a chop/pellet diet).

However, the past 2 days the female has done regurgitating motions (nothing comes up) when I come into the room. It isnā€™t every time, probably about 2-3 times each day. Itā€™s also a bit strange because she seems to prefer my husband, but she doesnā€™t regurgitate when he walks into the room.

I am very new to small parrot ownership, and they are definitely very different than the African grey I grew up with and my 5 year old male eclectus. Is this typical of caiques? Is there anything else I can do to prevent this behavior, if it is a mating behavior? I have been ignoring it and turn away until she stops.

Also, do you have any special tips for new caique owners? Maybe some great toy recommendations?

Thank you so much!

Last edited:

Laurasea

Aug 2, 2018
USA
Parrots
Full house
Welcome to the forums! O see your cutie in your avatar. But we love pictures if you want to share!

On caique no experience.

But on new to your home birds, this can happen. Because they are just so excited to get attention ( if that was missing in previous home) or to try and bond and make connections and fit in . It usually calms down as they settle in

Ria.345

Banned
Banned
Jun 23, 2021
New York City
Parrots
Sun Conure and Umbrella Cockatoo
Not a caique owner either but i can give you some basic knowledge.
Caiques are so clownish, energetic, and funny (as general traits) but of course every bird no matter what general virtues come along with them, are different and unique through shaped personality. Iā€™ve also heard kind of like cockatoos, they happen to be floor walkers so thatā€™s interesting.