The time has come....

Lakermatt

May 15, 2015
Fresno, CA
Parrots
Baby Blue and Gold Macaw
Good Morning Guys, I am in a bit of tight spot as of right now. I just got a call from the breeder I am getting my blue and Gold macaw from. He has been called back to work all of a sudden, and is going to be out of town working. He needs me to come get my bird!! he says that no one at his house is able to care for the birds, and that he is very sorry about the situation. I am very nervous, as I feel it is too early just yet. But I can not change that as of now, and need to step up and do some MAJOR shot gun training. I AM GOING TO NEED ALL OF YOUR ADVICE AT THIS TIME!! anyone that has experience in Blue and Golds please help me if possible. the bird is on day 84 and he says is doing very well at this time. If you follow my post on the introduction area, you will see the photos and thread. I am new to this, but I am up for the challenge. I will be picking up the bird either today or tomorrow, as he is leaving by Wednesday. I guess this guy is a contracted welder for the gas pipeline and gets called out of nowhere. I am mad at what has happened, but I cant get upset now... just need to make deal of what has happened. Thanks in advance! :eek:

JerseyWendy

Jul 20, 2012
Is there anyone around you who can teach you how to PROPERLY feed your baby?? He will need to be handfed until he's at least 4 months old.

If you have ZERO experience in handfeeding these guys (or any baby parrots), please know that a LOT of things can go wrong.

You will need:
Digital Scale
Handfeeding formula (preferably one specified for macaws)
Syringes (or bent spoons)
Digital Thermometer
Cage/Container to keep baby in until he's able to perch properly without taking the risk of him falling too deeply, especially on a full crop.

Check out this thread, it contains 2 links, please check both of them, especially the second one (it's on handfeeding)