Any one know how to tame a parakeet?

Kings_girl

Feb 22, 2014
Media
Parrots
King the eclectus, a white face cockatiel, and a quaker.
There's a parakeet staying with us awhile and he's terrified of people and I was hoping to get him to where I can at least have him step up but I've never worked with a parakeet before only bigger birds. Any good ideas on how to get him to trust me?

Mekaisto

Jan 8, 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Parrots
Zookeeper who has worked with many bird species, and owner of a cheeky red-tailed black cockatoo (Ash)
Before worrying about stepping up, try to get him comfortable with you.

His cage should be at about chest/shoulder height, any lower and you'll tower over him, and might frighten him every time you come close.

Try to make sure he's in an area where there's not too much noise or sudden movements/surprises. He shouldn't be too close to any doors or windows.

When you walk by his cage, be a little slower and smoother with your movements than usual.

Find out his favourite food (millet, corn and apple are typical favourites of budgies) and try to win him over by feeding him every so often. If he won't take it from your hand, just place it in his cage and sit nearby, so he begins to associate you with a treat.

strudel

Sep 30, 2013
Media
I talk to all animals. When my birds are startled or something, I tell them it's ok, not to panic. Always calm and soothing tone.

Otherwise, definitely millet. They'll like you if you come bearing millet, just give her some time to get used to you.

OP
Kings_girl

Kings_girl

Feb 22, 2014
Media
Parrots
Ok thanks I'll try then and let you guys know if it works.

OP
Kings_girl

Kings_girl

Feb 22, 2014
Media
Parrots
I tried to feed him some corn but he won't eat it and if I start to open his cage he starts to jump and hop around trying to get away. He won't even try the corn he just sits there even when I leave the room.

strudel

Sep 30, 2013
Media