Conure biting nails and fingers, is that progress in bonding?

mamolis

Mar 27, 2023
Parrots
green cheeked conure
Hi so I had Kiwi for a few months now and had problems with him still not liking my hands. Hes also been kind of scared everything. Clothes, my laptop even a fan on the other side of the room.
We also had our ups and downs because hed my first bird im still learning how to take care of birds.
But recently I started to try trust bonding again since I havent seen any progress. He started biting my arm hair which I heard is affectionate behaviour. And now biting my fingers and nails through the cage. He also rests his feet on my finger sometimes. So i want to ask. Am i doing good? Are we making progress?

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty
Yes, that is good progress. Forget about your quick monkey brains expectation of progress, parrots rate of acceptance of change is glacial.

onamom

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 9, 2022
Indiana, USA
Parrots
Ona: Dilute Green Cheek Conure
Hi so I had Kiwi for a few months now and had problems with him still not liking my hands. Hes also been kind of scared everything. Clothes, my laptop even a fan on the other side of the room.
We also had our ups and downs because hed my first bird im still learning how to take care of birds.
But recently I started to try trust bonding again since I havent seen any progress. He started biting my arm hair which I heard is affectionate behaviour. And now biting my fingers and nails through the cage. He also rests his feet on my finger sometimes. So i want to ask. Am i doing good? Are we making progress?
Sounds like he is getting more comfortable with your hands and is exploring! Yes, that’s a good sign. Will he step up for you yet?