hand washing bird dishes vs. dishwasher

crimson

Oct 8, 2012
Media
Ontario,Canada
Parrots
Senegal-Martini,1 pineapple conure~ Kahlua,1 GCC~ Flare, spl/b, 4 Lovebirds Halo,Tye-Die,Luna,Violet,8 Cockatiels,Num Num&Tundra,8-Ball&Angus,Magnet&Sunkist,Pearl, Blush, 1 gouldian finch, 7 canaries
how many of you hand wash your bird dishes or do you put them in the dishwasher?
I can see you hand washing them if you only have 1 or two birds, but since I own quite a few, we go thru 45 dishes per night!
we don't own 45 birds, but some cages have multiple dishes in them.
I use to hand wash them, but now it's the dishwasher, on sanitize.

the problem is I find that the dishes don't come clean as well as hand washing them, and may not be getting rinsed thoroughly enough.

I have been breeding for more than 3 years with excellent results on raising chicks, never ever lost one, until I stopped hand washing them, and started using the dishwasher.
Ever since then, I've been loosing chicks, and I can't help but wonder if there is a connection somehow. It's taken me a while to peace this together so I thought I would run this by everyone.
my breeding techniques have not changed.
nothing happens to the adults, just the chicks.
anyone else who breeds ever had this problem? I really don't know if there is a connection, just thought I would ask.

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
Nanday, suns, parrotlet, Patagonian
I don't breed, hand feed or change diapers, but I have, like you mentioned, had problems with bird bowls not coming clean.....I figure humans can fend for themselves, so I started a bleach bucket in the morning, when I change out the morning dishes...about aa gallon of water with 1/2C +/- bleach, rinse out bowls & let soak.....same with evening bowls, but dump solution & re-make, then include morning bowls again.....solved my stuck-on-crud situation.....