I don’t know how to tame two mated Indian ringnecks

Septic

Jul 12, 2022
Parrots
Indian ringnecks, galar, budgie
So I’ve just got a mating pair of two Indian ringnecks that have mated already. The thing is I want to tame them but I’m aware that taming two birds that are already bonded to eachother is quite difficult and I’m finding not much recourses to help. Is it possible to train them? I’ve had birds before but i wouldn’t say I’m good at taming I’m a beginner.

clark_conure

Jul 14, 2017
Media
Minnesota
Parrots
A crossover Quaker Scuti (F), A Sun conure named AC, A Cinnamon Green Cheek conure Kent, and 6 budgies, Scuti Jr. (f), yellow (m), clark Jr. (m), Dot (f), Zebra(f), Machine (m).
It's absolutely possible. But my "bird guy" says it's a long process. Those birds you see on youtube playing peekaboo were either hand raised their entire lives or they put a lot of work into them. Your looking at a time scale of like 9 months he told me.

Squeeing_Onion

Oct 10, 2018
Minnesota, USA
Parrots
"Bongo" - Green Cheek Conure
“Echo” - Indian Ringneck
"Chicken" - Sun Conure, rest in peace, my precious friend.
I've heard of befriending mated pairs being done, and I absolutely believe its possible... with one adjustment of phrasing; I don't really believe in "tame" animals. I think the word carries a lot of stigma from many perspectives, and it's not always clear what's being intended; if tame is an animal who "does what we want, when we want it" -- or if tame is an animal who "willingly obliges our requests when it does not impede them to do so, and shows a proclivity and preference for sharing our company and direct interaction" ?

So, I don't suggest approaching your birds with the intent to "tame" them.