MagicArrow

Nov 11, 2023
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure
I've recently adopted two green cheek conures (supposedly male and female). One is 10 years old, and the other is about 7. They've been absolutely screaming their heads off from day one, and we've had them for a month now. They have toys (Which they never really use), and spend most of the time in their cage. I'm no beginner with parrots, and I know they need mental stimulation, but these guys are probably the craziest parrots I've ever had. I was always under the impression the green cheeks were quiet and peaceful. These two are obnoxiously vocalizing all throughout the day, especially when the room's brightly lit.

The two often display "content" behavior, such as puffing up, preening themselves and each other--yet they continue to scream for no reason. One weird behavior I've noticed them doing a lot is sitting on a perch and bending downwards with their wings slightly open. I don't know what this means for conures, but they do it a lot, and they often scream while doing it. I suspected that it was mating behavior, but I've never seen them mate, nor did the previous owner.

In addition, I can't seem to tame them. They love millet seeds, will eat from my hand, and the male will often instinctively perch on my shoulder--however, the female is completely wild. Even if she steps up onto your hand, she will intentionally bite down as hard as she can and refuses to let go. She's broken skin with her bites and made me bleed every-time. The male, while cooperative outside the cage, seems to be quite territorial inside the cage. He will aggressively strike forward to bite my hand to bite. This makes it extremely challenging to even take them out. They continue to scream regardless, even if they are flying around.

Looking for some advice on how to proceed, because right now 'chaotic' is the only way I can describe these two little demons.

bonitabird59

Apr 12, 2022
Hi!!!