Lovebirds good pets?

BirdSquawk

Aug 21, 2012
Parrots
Jack- 5 year old pacific parrotlet
Hi! I am new to birkeeping but definetly not new to birds. I have been doing research for about two years and i have narrowed my choices down to getting either a lovebird, cockatiel or parrotlet. I want something that could hang out with me virtually any minute i am home but i would be gone for school. I dont mind cleaning up messes as i suspect i am OCD. The cage i have could fit a conure at most, better suited for smaller birds. Although one day i would LOVE to be owned by a hyacinth macaw, i can't go on parrotless! Any suggestions? Thanks:blue:

Birdlover11

Aug 23, 2012
Long island
Parrots
Pepsi and sprite, both are American male budgies
:rainbow1:I think all 3. Are good for you. I recommend lovebirds so before you go to school you can cover the cage with a blanket so while your at school theHy could be rested . Give them A LOT of chew toys as they are know to be good chewers

lene1949

Sep 26, 2011
Brisbane, Australia
Parrots
Cory: Short billed Corella -
Echo: Galah -
Max: Alexandrine -
Skye: Yellow Sided conure -
Luka: Green Cheek Conure -
RIP Shrek: Quaker
I would go for a cockatiel... They are the best pet bird in the world...

FineFeatheredFriend

Aug 30, 2012
Parrots
Lovebird~Precious, Sennie~Snoopy,Hahns Macaw~Fiona
If you end up choosing a lovebird make sure you get one hand fed do not buy one from Petco or Petdmart. Only because those are not tame. Try to get a male one verses a female. Female lovebirds can be very moody and nippy. I have had mine for 14 years and she is bonded only to my 14 year old teenage daughter. My daughter loves the lovebird more than anyother that I have ever adopted. Cockatiels make great pets but beware of their dander. Some people like myself can't stand dander. I had to rehome all my cockatiels. Good luck in your search for parrot friend.

cdnbirdlover

Aug 24, 2012
Canada
Parrots
Peach faced lovebird Basil