My canary winged parakeet was recently put on antibiotics + steroids combo - is this normal?

Jun 7, 2023
Parrots
Canary Winged Parakeet, Budgie/Parakeet
Hello, apologies if I'm in the wrong place, this is my first time using these forums, I purely want to make sure my baby is alright.

About a week ago, my bebe (pickle) suddenly started changing her vocalizations and became increasingly more raspy as the days progressed, sometimes not even being able to make her normal noises. Avian vet availability in my area is scarce and the earliest appointment I could get was yesterday/Tuesday as any animal hospital told us to leave unless she was in critical condition because she was acting completely fine outside of her voice changing. Fast forward to yesterday, vet does a mouth scan and sees that her glottis is being pushed to the right and is not in the middle where it should be. Also signs of inflammation. Vet didn't do any swabs or tests, only said it could possibly be an infection (or at worst a tumor), and is having us give her antibiotics and steroids to assist with the inflammation, for 30 days--If she gets worse we come back immediately.

Kind of concerned I didn't get a straight answer, but I can't go anywhere else. :(

The next day (today) Pickle seemed for the most part okay, as of right now she's on my hand while I type this out. But a large part of the day she's been getting really sleepy and closing her eyes pretty often while standing around, she ate a lot of fruit in the morning but now just doesn't really want to touch her pellets or other food. Her poops are also pretty watery with not too much fecal matter, mostly just urate and liquid. Is this normal for parrots on antibiotics and steroids? Avian vet is closed right now.

Thanks for any assistance!

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty