Need some help choosing a cage for a Blue & Gold Macaws

DAROCK

Aug 2, 2010
South Ozone Park,NY
Parrots
3 year old Blue and Gold Macaw- Elvis
Hello everyone ! Hope all is well, I'm new to the parrot scene and I've join this wonderful forum to learn and research about Blue & Gold Macaws. I've started a thread under "Macaws" for help on choosing my next best friend.
Thank again guys ! So regarding the cages, I know bigger is better, and that's not a problem for me, because my Blue & Gold will be in my basement where I spend all of my time. I just don't know where to start looking. Any help would be greatly appreciated ! I've found two websites on the forums

Dog Crate Bird Cage Kennel With Top Quality and Wholesale Prices
untitled1

Bobby34231

Jun 25, 2010
Media
Albums
Sarasota,Florida
Parrots
Quincy - Blue Throated Macaw, Skittles and Dusty - Rose Breasted Too's,
Joey - Yellow Crown Amazon, Ashley - CAG
Ebay is great for new cages. u can find huge cages for cheap. Try to look for the ones with Free shipping.

you have to be very careful about bying those cheap discount cages, most are poorly constructed and rust extremely easy due to poor quality paint jobs, with all the problems of childrens and pet toys with toxic paint comming out of China, I have very little faith that bird cages will be any different, just a heads up, might look into king cages, avian adventure or even preview cages just to mention a few brand names with pretty good track records, if your looking to save money on a cage look on Craigslist or ebay classifieds for used cages of better quality.....

HRH Di

Jan 9, 2010
Media
McKinney, TX
Parrots
Max - Alexandrine, Jade - Red-Front Macaw, Ruby - CAG
Personally, I'm partial to Kings Cages - very sturdy and well-made. They also have free shipping options from their web site. They can be expensive, but they last for years and years.

My 2nd favorite is Avian Adventures. They're often available at Petco.com for very reasonable prices.