What bird is most suitable for me - and to which bird am I suitable?

DR-RM

May 18, 2023
Hello!

I'm totally new to this forum. The reason why I created this account is to get a more comprehensive view from the community regarding getting a pet bird. I have been considering this for a few years now, with careful consideration. If I get a bird, I plan on keeping it for life. I wouldn't have the heart to part with an animal once bonded.

I want your opinions about what bird to go for, taking my current living- and occupation situation in mind. I want to make sure I can care for the bird in accorande to its needs. I wouldn't be against getting a pair of birds simultaniusly or successivly depending on what is most beneficial for the bird species in question.

Circumstances:
I currently live in a 75 sqm (800 square feet) apartment (2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen bathroom, hallway, balcony) in a quiet neighbourhood with a small park a one minute walk away. The apartment is fairly well sound insulated and can definitely fit a cage 2x2x2 meters, maybe even 2x3x2 meters. There is aqequate indoor lighting and temperature control. I can add humidity control as needed. The home contains a fair bit of electronics and cables in the living room and in one of the bedrooms. The living room has a large fabric sofa and a plush carpet on a wooden floor.
I work a regular job and will be away 08-17 during the week and usually be home most hours on weekends. The job is well payed and I will be working there for the rest of my career. I am currently living alone and economy isn't an issue for me considering savings and job safety.

Requirements: