what snacks do you feed your conure?

Sarvesh

Aug 9, 2015
just wondering because my conure doensn't seem to want to eat anything besides his goldenfeast natural conure blend :/ i heard birds love millet, but he doesnt seem interested in eating it when i hold it in front of him...should i leave it in his cage for him to discover on his own?

any other snacks you can recommend? preferblay stuff thats bought as whole fresh food like brocolli or something packaged like millet? (He wont eat brocolli or carrots or apple either :/) im a terrible cook and i dont even cook for myself D: but i do make sure that the food i feed my birds is all natural.

i wanna try to teach him to do things like flying to me on command, but idk how to reward him and i think he is getting tired of headscratches lol. food is the best reward, so what snacks ya recommend?

btw I LOVE IT when conures eat something big like a seed or nut and they hold it with one foot and eat it with their mouth like people LOLOL

Dinosrawr

Aug 15, 2013
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Parrots
Avery, a GCC born on March 5th, 2013 & Shiko, a blue IRN born on February 25th, 2014
Have you ever tried making a chop and mixing his conure blend with it? It doesn't require cooking per se, but it does require preparation. It would help give some better nutrition.

Have you ever given him a small piece of pine nut, almond, or sunflower seed to see if he would like those as specific rewards? If you're giving him the GF blend, stay away from anything that he already receives in the blend. Otherwise it won't be a novelty food or reward that he'll look forward to receiving. Personally I don't like blends with sunflower in them because of their fat content and the fact that they tend to be a favourite and hence picked out before filling up on anything that's nutritionally better.