Cockatiel seem extremely territorial towards anything paper

Bekyro

Sep 18, 2020
Denmark
Parrots
Female Lutino Cockatiel named Luna
Make Cinnamon Cockatiel names Cin
So I write here a while back about how I got another member to my flock to keep my original cockatiel company and how he seemed very aggressive towards my phone + planners when I was using both.

Now that it’s been a while I’ve realized that it may not have been as connected as before. Zen seems to be very aggressive towards anything paper and not just my planners as I originally thought. If I’m sitting with something paper like you bet he will be right there. And while he’ll just sing a bit and stay focused on the paper for a bit, he’ll eventually go up to it and begin chewing on it and I’m at a complete loss at what to do.

I journal, that’s my hobby, which mean lots of paper and some of it stuff I get very sad if/when it’s destroyed like that. I’m also a student and heavily prefer studying in my room, which is also where my cockatiels lives and the cage is. And since I prefer to have my sources and other things on paper, it means I have quite a bit of paper spread out whenever I’m studying and he goes right for it, chewing it up and getting aggressive if I try stop it. And I’m fearing that unless I can break that habit I will have to give him up. While that would be a decision far out in the future, the fact it have to be an option like that breaks my heart.