Considering getting a Macaw

Disco_Parrot

May 2, 2021
Hello, I'm considering getting a B&G Macaw. I'd like to be sure that I'm ready for this bird and that it'll be happy living with me.

Little backstory about me - I'm 23 y/o and me and my younger bro had/have green cheeked conure for about 11 years now. She's the cuddliest and most affectionate little fellow I've ever had a chance to own. My family had dogs and now has a few cats, they are good pets, but there's something special about parrots. I just really enjoy having her on my shoulder/PC screen when I'm studying/working (IT with lots of homeoffice) and in general.

I have moved out half a year ago because of school/job and decided with my younger brother that it would be for the best that the GCC stayed with him. I now miss having a parrot around me and I'd love to get a B&G Macaw. They are just so beautiful, intelligent and social birds and as I've said, I love parrots, so I'm considering getting one.

Now for my living situation; I'm living together with gf, she is up to it and would be delighted to shower a parrot with love. We live in an apartment, is that a dealbreaker? I'm in 4th year of uni, my school schedule is quite chill however; I don't have to spend much time in school. Job wise, I work in IT and have lots of home office, I usually go to the office once per week at most, so I spend a lot of time at home. I'm generally busy during the day, I'm always doing something productive, but since I spend most of my days at home, I'd be around the parrot a lot. Gf's situation is similar, she is student as well with chill schedule, spending lot of time at home.