I am new to having a pet Conure

DeclanOH

Apr 2, 2014
Ireland
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure
Hi everyone,

My name is Declan I am new here at parrotforums.com. Sunday 30th March I got a Green Cheek Conure, the little guys name is Rio, he is 2 months old. I got him as a present. I brought him to the Vet on Wednesday 2nd April for a check up as being new to birds I was just being over protective a bit. The vet said Rio was Healthy looking, feathers were fine, beck was fine, eyes where healthy and his feet were to. Rio loves being at the bottom of his cage and sometimes under the paper in his cage is this okay.

The vet said plenty of fruit and veg and little bird seed because it can become addictive. At present he is on egg food and a bit of seed. the Brand of egg food is CeDe egg food. the last two days I was testing Rio with grapes and Rio likes them. What is the best to feed him only being two months old. Also he is a happy bird and I leave him out of his cage every day for about 1 hour to 1 hour and a 1/2. He loves coming out and going up on my shoulder and lying against my neck. The first day or two was a bit nippy but that is slowly leaving him.

I just want to know the diet he should be on and also it being at the bottom of the cage normal. Sometimes he falls asleep down there. I clean his cage out once a day and give Rio fresh water every morning. He loves singing in his cage. :)

Sterling1113

Feb 15, 2014
Dallas area, Texas
I'm not familiar with the diet- so hopefully someone who is will pop in to answer your food questions- however I do know that softer foods are better when they're that young. So lots of fruits and veggies like grapes, kale, squash, berries, etc.