Importing from US to UK

shaun113

Dec 3, 2009
Scotish /English borders UK
Parrots
At present only a pair of BH caiques
Hi
First donā€™t get me wrong I do not wish to catch wild birds and import them to the United Kingdom. I am envious of the choice and quality of the birds available in the States and Canada. I was wondering if anyone had imported parrots from The US/Canada to the UK. I realize there are rules and regulations but I donā€™t seem to be able to find them or get information from the authorities. First it would be a long flight (12 hours) and I have no experience of transporting Parrots so if cruel or impractical I will give up now. If the birds would be OK (opinions welcome) I would seriously consider this as I cannot locate what I need in the UK but there seem to be plenty over there and beautiful examples. I am not attempting to import lots of birdā€™s just one pair as I cannot seem to locate them here.
Shaun

Auggie's Dad

Administrator
Dec 28, 2007
Media
Albums
South Hadley MA
Parrots
Auggie: Dusky Conure
I'm surprised you cannot find them there. What kind of parrots were you looking for?

Such a flight is quite a bit for a bird to go through and there are many risks. I don't think it is cruel, and not entirely impractical ... or at least not impossible as some people do it but it may border on impractical.

Would you be coming to America to pick them out and pick them up? If not there are additional risks, not the least of which is you would not really know what you are getting.

Lastly I don't know of many breeders or bird sellers who would like the idea of shipping them that far - any one that does take kindly to that idea to quickly is interested only in money and not in the health or quality of their birds so they may not be a good source in the long run. This is a generalization - I have no doubt there are SOME wonderful people willing to have their birds shipped, but there is no way for you to know which they are beforehand.