Major Fire :(

ShreddedOakAviary

Jul 13, 2011
Parrots
M2's, U2's, G2's, RB2's, VOS, RLA's, BFA's, DYHA's, Dusky Pionus, Blue and Green Quakers, Meyers Parrots, VOS, GW Macaw's, Harlequin Macaws, Tiels, YNA, TAG's, CAG's, Blue Crown Conures, Red sided Ecl
I am a dissabled Army vet (I get around fine and do chores, I don't want you thinking I'm too broken to properly care for our birds). Anyway I can't work full time so I breed 16 pairs of birds. They all have names and most of them are quite tame still and I really do love them all. In April of 2010 our barn caught fire (and we live 7 miles from pavement) the fire dept took 18min to arrive. We evacuated all the birds we could get to.... We have about 40 birds... We were never able to save the the greys... we couldn't get to them.... I watched smoke billow from the windows of their room.... Seven greys were lost RIP my beloved Dora, Cagney, Lucy, Bennet, Darcy, George, and Wheezie. The fire burned the barn, the aviary, the house, and both of my cars. I will never forget, and I hold it against myself because I could have gotten them out if I hadn't panicked so much early on during the fire. God bless my rural neighbors and mostly my husbdand for his quick thinking and reactions to hose the aviary while we all pulled birds out BEFORE the aviary had caught fire. You guys will never be forgotten. It's been over a year now... our house is rebuilt, and our new aviary is almost finished. But that day will always haunt me.

antoinette

Supporting Member
Jul 6, 2009
Media
Sunny South Africa !!!
Parrots
African "Grey"
"Mishka"
Male
7 Years old
Sorry for your loss, it must have been very sad and traumatizing.
Thank God you were all safe, it could have been a lots worse. Things happen for a reason, we don't always understand.
You have got wonderful memories of your birds, never to be forgotten.
Take care
Antoinette

mtdoramike

Supporting Member
Jan 18, 2011
Media
Mt. Dora Fl./central Fl.
Parrots