New Green Cheek Conure living on the ocean

gothambirdie

Aug 12, 2022
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure
Well unfortunately it’s not a tropical ocean, but the Gulf of Maine/Atlantic Ocean on the coast of New Hampshire. Brought this GCC home today, and I had not intended to acquire my first bird from a national pet chain.

But it was a great personality and I was displeased at the quality of its conditions (filthy water bowl for example), so I almost considered it an expensive adoption/rescue fee. I realize the cycle it creates but am not a believer in playing g-d with economic theory and decided I would bring this bird home after knowing about it for a few weeks.

Bird came home to me and my Shiba, who’s still adjusting and showing slight jealousy/concern, but improving over the course of the night.

I think this bird is very smart and funny already. I am a musician and musical enthusiast and have been singing to it as well as playing a revolving carousel of artists from Pink Floyd to B.B. King. When bird arrived it was very mistrustful due to the transport stress, but upon singing to it a rendition of Somewhere Over The Rainbow, it’s entire demeanor changed and has remained increasingly friendly.

Whenever the crowd cheered at the end of a BB song in a live concert that I played for bird, bird begins screeching and ducking up and down. I took a video of myself vocalizing a Gilmore lead in a Pink Floyd song from The Wall, and whenever I replay it on my phone the bird rushes across the cage to hear it up close. It’s a very musical bird specie?

Later I played some video of tropical birds, this led bird to become very vocal. I switched to some pigeon videos, I’m a huge pigeon fan but there’s no way to keep them where I’m at. Bird also responded to the pigeon calls. I eventually had to stop watching in order for bird to de-animate itself a bit. We settled on some videos of old Stratocaster and Fender tweed amps. Bird does appreciate the single coil pickup.