Green cheek pottying on couch

cdub11122

Aug 17, 2012
Illinois
Parrots
Green cheek conure Alf
I am new to owning a parrot...I worked in a pet shop right when I got home from the military before school started and fell in love with them, so I bought a green cheek. I have done a lot of research into their care and picked the brains of my boss about them. But now I moved to an apartment, and my green cheek Alf absolutely hates pottying in his cage or on his play gym. The only times that he pottys is when he is on my couch or after he makes an attempt to fly. I have tried putting paper on the couch and he just backs off of it, so i put a bigger sheet of paper and he backs up faster. I even tried to cover the whole seat with paper and he just backed up to the corner and let her go. Anyone know anything that might be able to help me get him to learn where to use the restroom. I have looked up potty training them and I cant get him to use the restroom on the paper to praise him or give him a treat.

LittleGreenBird

Aug 14, 2012
Connecticut
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure- Casady
My GCC doesn't like to go in her cage either. For a while we'd just put her back in her cage for a few minutes after she "went" somewhere she oughtn't and that worked to get her to stop going on everything she wasn't supposed to- except the couch. I can't get her to stop doing it. I got a $2 piece of muslin and put it over the cushions, I just throw it in the wash and it comes out fine.

OP
C

cdub11122

Aug 17, 2012
Illinois
Parrots
Green cheek conure Alf
yeah i been doing the same thing, whenever he goes on the couch i put him back in his cage, and he usually gets mad and throws a temper tantrum.

BoomBoom

May 2, 2012
Parrots
Boomer (Sun Conure 9 yrs), Pewpew (Budgie 5 yrs), Ulap (Budgie 2 yrs), Eight & Kiki (Beloved Budgies, RIP)
Hi! I'll share what I know based on my experiences with our 6 month old Sun Conure, Boomer.