B&G Macaw Problem

OctupussPrime

Dec 3, 2012
Kuwait
Parrots
African Grey
2 Ringneck Parrot
Hello, I am a proud owner of an African Grey, Coocoo :grey:, who is now 3 years old :) he is sweet, loving and very talkative. Yesterday arrived my brother's B&G Macaw from the States where he had him for 2 years. The Macaw is 2 1/2 years old and LOVES my brother. My brother will arrive to Kuwait in a month. My problem is that his Macaw, Zazu :blue:, is always stomping his feet and biting it at the same time. I reckon that he is intimidating me, so I don't know what to do to calm him down for a month at least. He keeps getting pissed off at stuff and then wants to eat what I'm eating. I know that Coocoo and Zazu might not get along and that I need to keep watch in case a fight broke off, but I am very new to handling Zazu who so far bit me twice. Anyone know what he is up to and what might I do to become friends with him.

PS. Zazu has a HUGE cage and he also gets treats after I play with Coocoo, cause I know that maybe he might like me for those tasty snacks.

JerseyWendy

Jul 20, 2012
Hi there and welcome to the forum. :)

Zazu only arrived yesterday, so everything is new to him. New home, new sounds, new faces, new everything. It will take him some time to get used to everything. :)

Please don't push him or rush him to trust you, as it will get you nowhere fast. :)

Talk to him calmly, offer him treats, and let him watch and observe, so he can realize nobody will harm him.

I would also advise you to keep him away from Coocoo, as a frightened Macaw can do quite some damage with his beak. You don't want Coocoo hurt or worse.

Just give him time to settle in. Patience, love and understanding will go a long way. :)

OP
O

OctupussPrime

Dec 3, 2012
Kuwait
Parrots
African Grey
2 Ringneck Parrot