Hello and I need a little help

michell448

Sep 27, 2010
Illinois
Parrots
TAG (Gabby)
Indian Ring Neck (Kiwi)
B&G Macaw (Petey)
Hi I am new to African grey's so I have a few questions. I am a mother of 5 the oldest being 15 and the youngest 11. I have recently acquired an 8 year old TAG.
She lived with her first home 7 1/2 years and her second home for 6 month. She is very unhappy. I have had her for 2 days. I know this is normal for her, what should I do to make her transition easier? They told me she does not eat any bird food what so ever just what ever they ate for dinner she at too. Right now she does not want to be taken out of her cage and she will bite if you try. If I put a towel over my arm or have long sleeves on I can get her out with the bite not hurting too bad. Once she is out she is OK, but very jumpy. Any advise would be great I want her to be a happy healthy bird. One other thing I did notice one side of her beak seems to have a thin over growth what causes that and what should I do? I was also told that her first home hand fed her until she was 3 years old. Thank you for any suggestions, Michell

AndrewH

Aug 22, 2010
Dayton, OH
Parrots
Both my birds are rehomed rescues. Samantha, Umbrella Cockatoo (HD: 2002)
Lucky, B&G Macaw (HD: 1990-ish?)
I do not have a grey but there are some very experience grey owner on this forum. Also, please don't take my advice the wrong way. I'm not trying to be rude.

I can tell you with certainty that you should not force her out of her cage onto your arm. This can be counterproducive in your sincere effort to build trust. Under supervised conditions, let her come out of her cage and (potentially) step up, but only if she want to. I would avoid towels and gloves at all costs. You won't need to coerce once the bird trusts you.

As a priority, you should make an appointment to have her seen by an avian vet.