How do I stop my young conure from biting?

Madi_renee

Jul 12, 2023
Parrots
Peach Faced Lovebird, Green Cheek Conure
Hello guys! I’m new to owning a conure, I’ve owned birds basically my whole life (cockatiels, lovebirds, budgies) so I have a little bit of understanding with these guys.
I just got a 3 month old Green Cheek from a bird store about 3 days ago. He seems pretty good with hands and fingers being around him, as you can rub his cheeks and he doesn’t really run from your hands. From research, it looks like green cheeks can be nippy, especially when they’re young. I was just wondering if there are certain methods to get him to stop biting. None of the bites seem aggressive, more curious than anything. I can get him to step up with treats pretty good so far and he doesn’t lunge or really want to bite. He basically nibbles your fingers and then starts to gnaw and it’s drawn a good bit of blood on me so far. Something I’ve been trying to do is when he bites, I shake my hand a little as he’s on me and say “no” to get him to stop and he listens for the most part. When he bites from inside his cage or just trying to step up, I grab his beak lightly and also say “no”. This method doesn’t seem to work as much so I’m not really sure what to do.
Just wondering what’s worked for some of you guys and what I can do! Thank you :)

Last edited:

ravvlet

Jun 25, 2019
Seattle WA
Parrots
Kirby - OWA, 33yrs old (2019-)
Broccoli - Dusky Conure - 3?mo old (July 2023 -)
~~~
(Rehomed) Sammy - YNA, 45 yrs old (2022-2023)
(RIP) Cricket - Cockatiel (2019-2022)
Pushing gently into the bite, shunning, and respecting when they’re saying no is what I’ve been doing so far. We also have mouthy conure coming home to us. I would avoid grabbing their beak as they may find that scary and will start to consider your hands dangerous.

clark_conure

Jul 14, 2017
Media
Minnesota
Parrots