Eclectus V.S. Caique V.S. Green Cheek Conure?

Tswift

Feb 3, 2011
Parrots
2 Caique Sisters- Ava and Sheik
Hello! I am a college student who is looking to buy a parrot companion around May/June of this year.
My mother has had budgies and a parrotlet, but re-homed them to a friend against my will because of the mess along with the stress of our noisy household. From then until now (6 years) I have been researching all types of breeds. I think i have narrowed my search to three: the eclectus, the caique or the green cheek conure.

Which breed would be better for me? I have been battling over which one I should get for months!I will be living with my parents in the summer, then moving into an apartment in August. I am only in class 4 hours a day or so, so I will be home a lot.

These are some of the things I am looking for:

Since I will be visiting my parents for holidays, I need a parrot that won't be too stressed out traveling and sleeping in a different home for a couple days. (Seems like this might rule the eclectus out?)

Quieter than average because I will be living in an apartment (Seems like the conure might have the louder tendencies).

A parrot that is not too protective of just one owner. My boyfriend is very interested in actively playing with and feeding the parrot too!

A parrot that can be easily trained. (Seems like all 3 can)

A parrot that wont require a very expensive diet (This is what worries me about the eclectus).

A parrot that will cuddle or like to be handled/touched. (The female eclectus did NOT want to be handled at the pet store)

A parrot that will like taking trips outside (I have read all about the possible hazards. Parrot would have their wings clipped and in a flight harness).

I have a great local bird store where my parents live in st. louis where I have been able to interact with caiques and conures, but not a male eclectus. The female eclectus they had did NOT want to be touched lol.

Here are my thoughts overall: