Pineapple conure biting during play unsure if it is aggressive

April34

May 23, 2022
Parrots
April, pineapple conure
Hi! I'm very sorry if I do anything wrong here as this is my first time on this site. I have a pineapple conure named April, I just got her hand raised about a month ago. She is usually very cuddly and sweet, however has been biting lately. This brings me to my question. I play a game with her where I take one of her favorite foods and hold it in front of her, then move it away when she tries to grab it. I do this for a while until I finally give it to her, however instead of taking it, she simply bites my thumb.

I have no reference really for how hard she is biting but it hurts quite a bit and I am unsure if it is like an overexcitability thing or if she is simply upset and doesn't like the game. So far I have been just not giving her the food when she does this, however she has been continuing. I am unsure what types of biting are which and whether I should correct them or not. She has calmed down since, but seemed agitated before. Basically what I'm asking is, is this a bad game to play with her? I guess it could be like teasing but I thought it would be nice to give her a little game to get treats. Any and all help and information appreciated as I am new to this and would like to make sure I raise a well behaved healthy and loving happy bird!

(Edit: so that I don't have to make a separate question, should I be correcting playful biting off it begins to hurt?)

Last edited:

IndySE

May 5, 2016
Southern California
Parrots
Kermit, ♀ GCC (Green Demon)
Young babies don't quite know what hurts you and what doesn't - you have to teach them :) Every time she does it say "Ow!", don't give her a snack, and place her back in the cage. My Green Cheek was a lot bitier when she was younger, but is now fairly gentle.. the only time she hurts me is when she means to hurt me lol.